RMY12: Grief and loss

Duration10 minutes
Learning ObjectivesTo understand the seven stages of grief, including that everyone will move through them at their own pace and may move forward and back through the stages.
Tools/materials for the PresenterRural Minds Youth PowerPoint – Grief and loss
Lesson ComponentsGrief and loss are painful and an unavoidable part of life.
Discussion question – What are the 7 stages of grief?
There are seven stages to grief: Shock, Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Testing and Acceptance.
Everyone will move through these stages at their own pace. They will not take the same amount of time in each and the progression
through the stages is not always direct and linear.
Key messagesThere are seven stages of grief:
» Shock
» Denial
» Anger
» Bargaining
» Depression
» Testing
» Acceptance
Everyone goes through the stages at a difference pace.
Progress isn’t always linear – it’s not uncommon to move forwards and backwards through the stages.
ReflectionThink of a time when you have experienced a significant loss. It could be the loss of a family member, friend, a pet, or a relationship breakup. How did you feel?
Lesson Content
0% Complete 0/1 Steps